Skip to main content

Qualifications Framework

The Qualifications Framework (QF) was launched in 2008 to provide a platform to encourage and facilitate lifelong learning, with a view to enhancing the capability and competitiveness of the workforce in Hong Kong. It is a seven-level hierarchy of qualifications covering the academic, vocational and professional as well as continuing education sectors. Qualifications recognised under the QF are quality assured and level-rated in accordance with objective and well-defined standards. The list of such qualifications and courses can be found in the Qualifications Register .

Specification of Competency Standards

Established in 2010 under QF, the Industry Training Advisory Committee of the Testing, Inspection and Certification Industry has completed the Specification of Competency Standards (SCS) for the sector and released it in July 2014. The SCS consists of 242 Units of Competency (UoCs) which are distributed in 7 major functional areas at various levels. It sets out the skills, knowledge and competency standards required of practitioners to perform various job functions effectively. More details can be found in its relevant webpage.

Award Scheme for Learning Experience

QF has launched the Award Scheme for Learning Experience to encourage outstanding or emerging practitioners to broaden their horizons through participating in various learning activities (e.g. international competitions, seminars, sharing sessions and study tours, etc.) in different places around the world and to develop network with industry partners in and outside Hong Kong. Details of the scheme can be found at its website.

Recognition of Prior Learning

As a measure to recognise work experiences and competencies acquired by practitioners at the workplace, a Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) mechanism under the QF provides an alternative route for practitioners to obtain QF-recognised qualifications without undergoing a training programme, thus facilitates their subsequent progression in learning, and probably in careers. It is particularly useful to practitioners who do not possess high academic attainment but have acquired substantial practical experience in industry.

Based on the SCS formulated by the Testing, Inspection and Certification Industry, the RPL is conducted in the form of clusters of units. Applicants may decide on the level of qualification for the clusters they wish to apply for recognition based on their prior working experience and relevant experience.

The School of Science and Technology of Open University of Hong Kong has been appointed by the Secretary for Education as the independent assessment agency for the RPL for the Testing, Inspection and Certification Industry. For details of the RPL mechanism and application method, please visit its website.